You are standing at the Threshold of Professional Opportunity… Use Your Key to Open the Door.

Types of certifications

The Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field. Since the program’s launch in 1973, it has opened up countless doors of opportunity for practitioners around the world as it communicates their ability to serve as key players in their organizations’ success. Candidates leave the program enriched with educational experience, applicable knowledge, and business tools that can deliver a positive impact in any organization or business environment.

The CIA credential can be your master key to professional success, opening doors for career opportunities and earning you increased credibility and respect within the profession and your organization. Ultimately, the CIA designation will:

  • Distinguish you from your peers
  • Demonstrate your proficiency with internal staff and external clients
  • Develop your knowledge of best practices in the industry
  • Demonstrate your proficiency and professionalism
  • Lay a foundation for continued improvement and advancement

Earning the CIA designation is a valuable accomplishment and a professional advantage for auditors at all stages of their careers, including Chief Audit Executives, Audit Managers, audit staff, risk management staff, and also students enrolled in an accounting or other business or financial degree program.

Computer-based Testing

The CIA exam is available through computer-based testing, allowing you to test year-round at more than 500 locations worldwide. Candidates are able to sit for exams at any IIA-authorized Pearson VUE testing center worldwide, regardless of whether the testing center is located in your hometown or country.

Authorised testing center in Cyprus

The testing centers for sitting the exam in Cyprus are AKTINA (20 Loukis Akritas Street, 1st floor, 2064 Nicosia) which is located in Nicosia and TUTORS PANARETOS EDUCATIONAL CENTRE (62 Vasileos Constantinou Street, 3076 Limassol) which is located in Limassol. You must apply and register in The IIA’s Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS) prior to scheduling an exam. The exam should be scheduled via the Pearson VUE website.

Six Steps to Certification

If you need help getting started, refer to the six steps to certification an internal auditor should review when making the decision to become certified in the profession.

Changes to Program Eligibility and Exam Retake Windows

To align with the three-part CIA exam, the CIA program eligibility window has been adjusted from 4 years to 3 years. This reflects the amount of time typically required to complete the certification process. Candidates who were already approved into the program prior to 1 September 2019 will maintain a 4-year program window. Candidates approved into the program on or after 1 September 2019 will have 3 years to complete the program. Candidates can still request a one-year extension.

In addition, effective 1 September 2019, the waiting period to retake an exam has been shortened from 90 to 60 days. As long as it is still within the program eligibility window, candidates can retake the exam after waiting 60 days.

The IIA’s CIA Learning System Version 6.0

The IIA’s CIA Learning System Version 6.0 prepares Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) candidates for the updated CIA exam, which begun testing on January 1, 2019.

New for Version 6.0

Aligned with updated CIA Exam Syllabi, testing January 1, 2019 and beyond

Includes 500 new test questions

Candidates may download books to their e-reader, read online, or choose printed books (optional add-on for $100 plus shipping & taxes)

Link seamlessly from online quiz questions directly to pertinent sections of the online reading materials for convenient topic review

Includes most recent IPPF enhancements

Video tutorials providing an overview of the IPPF components

The IIA’s CIA Learning System Version 6.0 teaches and reinforces the entire updated global CIA exam syllabus in a flexible, online format, with optional printed books to ensure candidates are prepared to pass the CIA exam and armed with critical tools and knowledge to excel in their internal audit career.

The cost for purchasing the System may be found in the “IIA Bookstore” of The IIA website. Candidates may either purchase each of the three Parts separately or all three Parts together. Members are eligible for lower purchase prices.

Comprehensive Reading Materials

Electronic reading materials provide the framework for successful CIA exam preparation, teaching the entire updated global CIA exam syllabus in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

Reading materials teach the entire updated global CIA exam syllabus.

Part 1: Essentials of Internal Auditing

Part 2: Practice of Internal Auditing

Part 3: Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing

Convenient online format allows candidates to study whenever their schedule allows.

For any additional information you may contact IIA Cyprus.

Quick Links

Job analysis and stakeholder surveys have indicated that a key element to unlocking internal audit’s full potential can be found in a professional’s ability to provide advice and assurance on risk management to audit committees and executive management. In response, The IIA has developed the CRMA designation.
The IIA will be relaunching its Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA) exam in 2020 to reflect the in-depth, organizational knowledge and advanced skill sets that are required to succeed in risk management assurance. To accomplish this, key changes are being made to the CRMA exam that include:


  • Making all questions proficient level.
  • Incorporating eight different question formats.
  • Extending the seat time for the exam.


The new CRMA exam will officially launch on March 2021. Before March 2021, members can obtain the CRMA designation by passing the current CRMA exam. Starting March 2021, in order to be allowed to enter the new CRMA program, members MUST first obtain the CIA designation (and keep it active by reporting CPEs annually).

CIA Challenge Exam

Any current holders of an active CRMA designation, as well as any candidates who will earn this designation by 30 June 2020, will be eligible to take a CIA Challenge Exam, applications for which will open on 1 July 2020. The CIA Challenge Exam dates are to be determined, and candidates will have 180 to complete the exam upon registering.


For further information visit the IIA global website: Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA)

The Board of Environmental Health & Safety Auditor Certifications® (BEAC®) is an independent, nonprofit corporation established in 1997 to issue professional certifications relating to environmental, health, and safety auditing, and other scientific fields. BEAC is a member of the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB). CESB has granted full accreditation to BEAC’s Certified Professional Environmental Auditor (CPEA®) certification. This recognition and accreditation is tangible evidence of BEAC’s commitment to excellence of its CPEA program and provides assurance to applicants, certificants, and employers of certificants that the BEAC CPEA certification program is operated consistent with recognized credentialing practices.

For further information visit the IIA global website: BEAC Certifications

The IIA’s Global Board of Directors approved the 2017 certification fee increases to take effect on 1 April 2017. The fee increases will impact certification applications, registrations, and continuing professional education (CPE) and continuing professional development (CPD) reporting fees.
For details click on the link below: Certification Fees Increase