About Us

The Cyprus Institute of Internal Auditors was founded in 1998. Today, it has more than 500 members and is governed by an elected Board of Directors of 10 members. The Board of Directors, the members of which are listed below, is supported by four committees, the members of which are also listed below.

The vision of the Cyprus Institute of Internal Auditors is to be the fundamental institution that represents, promotes and develops the professional practice of internal auditing in Cyprus. Its mission is the continuous promotion and recognition of the profession, as well as the enrichment of its members’ knowledge and skills, by providing various relevant educational and training courses on a yearly basis.

"Internal Auditing is an independent, objective assurance and consulting activity designed to add value and improve an organisation’s operations. It helps an organisation accomplish its objectives by bringing a systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of risk management, control and governance processes. Performed by professionals with an in-depth understanding of the business culture, systems and processes, the internal audit activity provides assurance that internal controls in place are adequate to mitigate the risks, governance processes are effective and efficient, and organisational goals and objectives are met."

Board of Directors:

President Mrs Anna Zavou Christoforou
Vice-President Mr Aristodemos Yiannakas
Secretary Mrs Sophia Kassianidou
Treasurer Mr Marios Pashias
Member Mrs Polina Antoniou
Member Mr Christodoulos Hadjichristodoulou
Member Mr Athos Fasouliotis
Member Mrs Soteroula Savvidou
Member Mr Rovertos Yousellis
Member Mr George Nicolaides


Audit Committee (Επιτροπή Ελέγχου)
Christodoulos Hadjichristodoulou
Rovertos Yiousellis
Sophia Kassianidou
Soteroula Savvidou

Research and Training Committee (Επιτροπή Έρευνας και Εκπαίδευσης)
Sophia Kassianidou
Marios Demosthenous
Nafsika Antonopoulou
Pantelis Kyprianou
Vea Papadopoulou
Michalis Ioannou
Michalis Zevlaris
Despina Sheittani
Gregoris Demetriou

Promotion of the Profession and Academic Relations Committee (Επιτροπή Προώθησης του Επαγγέλματος και Ακαδημαϊκών Σχέσεων)
Aristodemos Yiannakas
Marios Pashias
Therapon Mafkas
Anastasios Koufopavlou
Yiannos Ioannou
Chrysovalantis Efthymiou
Chrystalla Kazara
Athos Fasouliotis
Yiannis Pettemerides
Giorgos Nikolaides

Professional Development Committee (Επιτροπή Επαγγελματικής Ανάπτυξης)
Polina Antoniou
Andri Kyriakou
Chrystalla Kazara
Michalis Zevlaris
Paola Stylianou
Theodoros Georgiou
Marios Petrides
Christos Antoniou
Stella Antoniou
Rovertos Yiousellis

Professional Standards and Ethics Committee (Επιτροπή Επαγγελματικών Προτύπων και Ηθικής)
Christodoulos Hadjichristodoulou
Soteroula Savvidou
Alexandros Anastasiou
Andreas Constantinou
Anastasios Koufopavlou
Irena Prodromou
Elena Gregoriou
Demetris Frangos